Things you should see #2: quotables

HU Queer Press’ State of the Gay – a new ‘zine by queer students, faculty, and alumni of Arkansas’ private Harding University. This is a conservative Christian university where things like extramarital sex, and yes, being gay, are conditions for expulsion. The many authors, who as far as I can tell are universally Christian believers, write anonymously — about their experiences at Harding, about whether they “struggle,” about what the Bible says about “people like them,” about how they are hurt by the lack of safe spaces at Harding and in the broader world.

I told some people I knew would still love me afterward. The funny thing is, even though I knew they would still love me, it took two hours of meaningless talk to be able to say it out loud. Most of the people I first told just kind of smiled and said “I figured.” And of course they still loved me.

Can we agree that at least one sin of sexual immorality at Sodom was gang rape? I mean, forget for a moment about the gay sex. Gang rape is sexually immoral, yes? If we can agree, I’d like to point out that the motivations of rape are more commonly associated with anger or power and control than sexual satisfaction. Tell me if this sounds reasonable – would a haughty people (Ezekiel 16:50) think that they had so much power that they would want to prove they have control over any visitor that stopped by?

… Forget about the fact that these angels took the form of men. If they had been women, do you think the situation would have turned out any differently? Consider the eerily-similar story of Gibeah (Judges 19) before you answer.

The fact is, if my mere existence somehow affects your faith or your marriage, you must have a pretty weak faith and a ridiculous marriage. If my future loving, committed relationship somehow weakens you, you are already quite weak. No law will change the fact that I’m gay and no law will save your faith or your marriage. Neither will condemnation or even therapy. I just am the way I am.

Did I mention it’s ‘zine-format, even online? It’s very punk rock. (found via Friendly Atheist)


How to How To Make Love to a Trans Person, by Gabe Moses – because I dunno about you, but I need a little poetry. A brief excerpt:

If she offers you breastbone
Aching to carve soft fruit from its branches
Though there may be more tissue in the lining of her bra
Than the flesh that rises to meet it
Let her ripen in your hands.
Imagine if she’d lost those swells to cancer,
Diabetes,
A car accident instead of an accident of genetics
Would you think of her as less a woman then?
Then think of her as no less one now.

(found via genderqueer.tumblr)

Comments are closed.